Appetizer · Christmas · Thanksgiving

Sugared Orange Cranberries

IMG_20141210_090932

I know it’s early to be talking about Thanksgiving or Christmas holidays.  But these little sugar sweets just puts me in the mood.  Cranberries are seasonal…I can only find them during the holidays.  (so sad) They are so addictive that its hard just to take a few.  Pass me the whole bowl!

IMG_20141210_090932-1

Every time I make these; I have to make sure no-one is around.    I am lucky if they last the next morning.   I hate to say this, but I have to hide them.   My hiding place is always in veggie drawer. (shhh) (no-one ever ever looks in there!!)

 

IMG_20141210_090932-2

These are great appetizers and party pleasers.  But cranberries are seasonal and hard to find them when I want them.

Ingredients

  • 1 bag Cranberries 12 oz.
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups waters
  • 3 3/4 sugar, divided
  • 2 teaspoons orange extract

How to prepare

  1. Combine 2 ½ cups of sugar, water, vanilla and orange extract in a sauce pan. Heat over medium until the sugar has dissolved.
  2. Pour in the cranberries and stir.
  3. Place the remaining 1 ¼ cup of sugar in a rimmed dish. Strain the cranberries and place them in the sugar. Shake until they are completely coated. Carefully transfer them to a baking sheet.
  4. Once the sugar coating is hard, place them in an air-tight container.  Can be kept for up to a week.

Enjoy!  These are so addictive!!

2 thoughts on “Sugared Orange Cranberries

Leave a comment